Eleven new members for Eta Sigma Phi!

New members of Eta Sigma Phi

Chapter Zeta Nu, the UMD chapter of of Eta Sigma Phi, the national Classics honor society, inducted eleven new members on March 7, 2019.  Those pictured are, from left to right:  Professor Robert Matera, honorary member; Clay Capra and Kevin Costello, active members; Tara Wells, associate (graduate) member; Meghan Lockwood and Sanyukta Wagle, active members; Rudolph Rauk, associate member; and Monica Gillispie, Edward Chinn, and John Spiezio, active members. Not pictured is Oscar Mujica-Martorell, active member. To qualify for membership, students must have reached the 300 level in either Latin or ancient Greek and have earned a B+ average in their language courses. Congratulations to these outstanding classical students!

Eta Sigma Phi was founded in 1914 at the University of Chicago and became national ten years later when it merged with another society at Northwestern University.  The ceremony includes speeches adapted from ancient Greek and Roman authors and was conducted by current members Lauren Baker, Anthony Vershov, Benjamin Turnbull, Elizabeth Capuano, Nathan Tillman, Anastazja Kolodziej, and Karl Pence.  It was followed by a reception for the new members and their guests.

Display Destinations: